BCM Has Big Showing of Health Care Hero Finalists


Baylor College of Medicine congratulates the faculty, physicians, alumni, and clinical staff who have been recognized as finalists for the 2009 Health Care Heroes Awards by the Houston Business Journal. The awards honor those who have made a significant impact on the healthcare industry, changed people’s lives for the better, and reached out to the community.


BCM received recognition in almost all categories across the competition. Finalists ranged from medical innovators and educators to volunteers and community outreach leaders. These healthcare professionals represent BCM’s vision to transform human health through the highest quality medicine, unparalleled service, and medical care tailored to the individual patient.


Finalists will be honored and winners announced on May 20 at a luncheon at the Wortham Center-Grand Foyer during HBJ’s Celebrate!Enterprise festival.


The 2009 Health Care Awards Finalists for BCM are:


Biomedical Finalist: Margaret Goodell, Ph.D.

Dr. Goodell is widely recognized as a leader in the field of stem cell biology. At BCM, she is the Vivian L. Smith Chair in Regenerative Medicine, professor of pediatrics and molecular and human genetics and director of the Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine (STaR) Center.


Community Outreach Finalist: Mark Kline, M.D.

Dr. Kline is director of the Baylor International Pediatric AIDS Initiative (BIPAI), a network of physicians, nurses, social workers, and medical researchers at BCM that has successfully led and expanded efforts to combat AIDS mortality in developing nations.


Doctor Finalist:John Goss, M.D.

Dr. Goss has developed one of the premier liver transplant programs in the country. He heads a liver transplant team that has a success rate for transplantation and a low frequency of retransplantation that exceed the national averages.


Doctor Finalist: Heidi Schwarzwald, M.D.

An associate professor of pediatrics at BCM, Dr. Schwarzwald is the recipient of a Fulbright scholarship for research among HIV-infected children in Botswana. She serves as BIPAI’s vice president for clinical affairs.


Health Care Education Finalist: Rachelle Doody, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Doody is internationally known for her work in developing treatments for Alzheimer’s disease and for her tireless efforts to educate the public and those affected by Alzheimer’s about the disease. She is professor of neurology at BCM, holds the Effie Marie Cain Chair in Alzheimer’s Disease Research, and is director of the Alzheimer’s Disease and Memory Disorder Center.


Innovator Finalist: Lawrence Chan, M.D., D.Sc.

Dr. Chan is leading the quest for a diabetes cure in a country where diabetes and obesity are rampant. At BCM, he is the Rutherford Chair for Diabetes Research, professor of medicine and molecular and cellular biology, chief of the Division of Diabetes, and director of the Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center.


Nurse Finalist: Angela Baker Johnson, L.V.N., L.V.N. II

Employee of the Year in 2008 for Baylor Clinic, Ms. Johnson has been a strong and active member of the Obstetrics and Gynecology team for 25 years.


Volunteer Finalist: Corbin J. “Corby” Robertson Jr.

As fundraising chair of the Best Minds Best Medicine campaign, Mr. Robertson is spearheading the college’s efforts to raise $1 billion. He is a longtime advocate for BCM and has encouraged greater collaborations with academic, research, and medical institutions across the Texas Medical Center and the region, leading BCM’s rise to the ranks of the top-tier medical schools in the nation.


The college also would like to extend warm congratulations to these members of the BCM family who were nominated by other community health care representatives. They are:

·        Brian Parsley, M.D., assistant professor of orthopedic surgery at BCM, Service Philanthropy Finalist.

·        Kathleen Motil, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of pediatrics at BCM, Service Philanthropy Finalist.

·        BCM alums Tri Dinh, M.D., Class of 1992, and Tue Dinh, M.D., Class of 1989, Service Philanthropy Finalists.

·        BCM alum Marc Boom, M.D., Class of 1992, Administrator Finalist.

·        Mavis Kelsey, Ph.D., former member of the BCM faculty, Lifetime Achievement Finalist.